Dilshan ruled out of final test

15/06/2011

Rose Bowl hospitality guests attending the ground's first ever test match this weekend will not get to see Sri Lanka's captain Tilakaratne Dilshan play, as he has been ruled out with an injury.

The batsman suffered a broken thumb in the second test at Lord's after he received two blows to his right hand off the bowling of Chris Tremlett in the first innings.

He was able to score a total of 193 in that knock, but sat out the second innings and has been unable to recover in time to play at the Rose Bowl.

This means the visitors will be led by Kumar Sangakkara - who resigned the full-time captaincy after this year's World Cup - as they seek to level up the series in Hampshire.

Team manager Anura Tennekoon explained the decision is a "precautionary measure" to ensure he does not aggravate the problem, which could lead to him being ruled out of the one-day series as well.

However, the injury news is better for England, who are expected to welcome opening bowler James Anderson back to the team after he missed the Lord's test with a side strain.

Posted by Jana Roberts
 ADNFCR-2911-ID-800579302-ADNFCR

Sign up to receive the latest events and sports news

Archive