Stan Wawrinka and Jamie Murray to feature in Aegon Championships

February 24, 2017

Fans booking corporate hospitality for the Aegon Championships are set for another brilliant year of top class action, with three of the biggest names in the sport adding their names to what is already a star-studded line-up.

US Open champion Stan Wawrinka, Grigor Dimitrov and Jamie Murray have all confirmed they will be taking part, alongside the already-confirmed star names of Rafael Nadal and world number one Andy Murray. 

Wawrinka played in last year's tournament and has a particularly strong motive to win his first grass court ATP title, with the Championships, Wimbledon starting the following week and representing the only one of the four Grand Slams he is yet to win. Victory at the All England Club would add him to an elite list of players with a clean sweep of Grand Slams, including Nadal, Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic. 

The Swiss star, who will be 32 this year, rose to stardom late by securing his maiden Grand Slam at the age of 28, when he defeated Nadal in the 2014 Australian Open final. His other two wins have come against Djokovic, with perhaps the greatest triumph of his career being his brilliant performance to win the Roland Garros final in 2015 in a year when the Serb swept all before him in the other Grand Slams.

With Andy Murray being the defending Wimbledon and Aegon Champion and Nadal showing he is back to something like his best form by reaching the Australian Open final, a victory for Wawrinka would be a major statement of intent. Indeed, both Murray (twice) and Nadal (2008) have followed victory at the Queen's Club with Grand Slam glory across London.

Jamie Murray will be joining his brother in the tournament as he seeks to continue his great run of success in doubles. Since joining forces with Bruno Soares last year, he has enjoyed Grand Slam glory at both the Australian and US Open, making them the number one-ranked pairing in the world at the end of 2016.

Dimitrov will also be one to watch. He won the Aegon Championships in 2014 and was a semi-finalist at the Australian Open, suggesting he may not be far off winning his first Grand Slam title.

Tournament director Stephen Farrow said: "By adding the US Open champion Stan Wawrinka to Andy Murray and Rafael Nadal, we now have 20 Grand Slam titles in our Aegon Championships singles field.

"Stan is one of the most exciting, spectacular shot-makers in the sport, and we are also thrilled that Grigor Dimitrov and Jamie Murray are going to be with us. Grigor is one of our most popular champions, and British crowds love watching Jamie play."

Dimitrov's win came in the final year of the tournament as an ATP 250 event. It was voted the best event in its category by the ATP in 2014 and has subsequently won the best ATP 500 tournament prize in both 2015 and 2016. 

With the competition being so highly-regarded by the players and so useful as they seek to make the adjustment from clay to grass ahead of Wimbledon, it is small wonder that so many top players will be there once again. If the last two years is any guide, more big names can be expected to be added in the weeks ahead.  

Posted In:

Connect with us


Receive our newsletter


Email to a friend