5 of World's Top 7 Players Enter Aegon Championships In Strongest-Ever Field At Queen's

5 of World's Top 7 Players Enter Aegon Championships In Strongest-Ever Field At Queen's

The Aegon Championships at The Queen’s Club is expecting its strongest-ever line-up after the official entry list for the 2017 event, which takes place 19th-25th June, was revealed.

Six of the world’s Top 10 on the Emirates ATP Rankings have entered, with 5 of the Top 7 (1. Andy Murray, 3. Stan Wawrinka, 5. Rafael Nadal, 6. Milos Raonic, 7. Marin Cilic, 10. David Goffin).

Jo Wilfried Tsonga, who reached the final in 2011, and the 2010 Wimbledon runner-up Tomas Berdych, are also late entrants to the field, which includes Nick Kyrgios and Juan Martin del Potro.

Tournament Director Stephen Farrow, said: “The player entry list for the Aegon Championships is strong every year and we already knew we were in for a great line-up, but with Marin Cilic and David Goffin adding their names to make it six of the world’s Top 10, Jo Wilfried Tsonga, Tomas Berdych and many more entering late on, and a 30% increase in our Centre Court capacity in 2017, this is set to be our best year yet.”

Tara McGregor-Woodhams, Head of Brand and Sponsorship Aegon UK at Aegon, added: “This is a wonderful list of many of the best tennis players in the world, led by Andy Murray, featuring the great Rafael Nadal, and exciting young players like Nick Kyrgios. We can’t wait for the Aegon Championships to begin."

Andy Murray will launch his title defence on Tuesday 20th June.

Earlier this year, Murray made a career-commitment to play in the Aegon Championships, and the BBC announced that they will cover the tournament until at least 2024.

Last year, the Aegon Championships was voted ATP-500 Tournament of the Year by the players - the fourth successive year that the event has received a tournament of the year award.

1. Murray 1
2. Wawrinka 3
3. Nadal 5
4. Raonic 6
5. Cilic 7
6. Goffin 10
7. Tsonga 11
8. Dimitrov 12
9. Berdych 14
10. Sock 15
11. Kyrgios 20
12. Isner 23
13. Johnson 25
14. Muller 26
15. Querrey 28
16. Troicki 33
17. Del Potro 34
18. F. Lopez 38
19. Schwartzmann 40
20. Darcis 43
21. Young 46
22. Harrison 47
23. Mahut 48